Three Weeks and Third Grade

I was just sitting here.

In complete silence.

*Cue 4 year old who is supposed to be in bed clomping down the stairs*

Well, that was fun while it lasted. I started my second round of 21 day fix this last week. The last round I lost 7 lbs and 5 inches. I am not too confident in the inches part, as I was using a heavy duty construction tape measure, which really wrapped nicely around my curves. By nicely I mean really shitty and it morphed into a box shape around the places I was measuring. So, take that with a box of rocks, or grain of salt… whatever floats your boat.

I am actually really excited to start this second round. I noticed this time around I am not as hungry as I was the first couple weeks of round one. I am riding the struggle bus when it comes to trying to fit all my containers in throughout the day. I can honestly feel the changes in my body by eating clean. During the little week that I had off between challenge groups – I drifted back to old habits, and I can’t believe how awful I felt. I was tired, had headaches, my face was breaking out and I just wasn’t feeling how I was getting used to. Although, I have to admit those Cool Ranch Doritos were heavenly!

So, here I am on day two, I’ve lost about another half a pound. I am actually having fun with this round, because i’m getting more brave and adventurous with recipes that I’m finding. Also, I’ve become the girl who carries a bag of baby carrots around in my purse (because, that’s a thing, right?) for any emergencies. Like those days when Bonnie bakes these delicious bars and brings them to work and they just smell REALLY good and everyone comes to your desk about how fantastic and great these freaking bars are and you’re there, just staring blankly at their forehead munching on carrots. Okay, that second part didn’t actually happen. I had like, a quarter of one and yes, it was delicious.

On the topic of the number three, my son starts 3rd grade in 27 days. That’s the first year of school that I actually remember clearly. I made my first best friend, I had my favorite teacher, and when it came time to pick a partner, I mastered the stare and head nod across the class room as if I was verifying our group. He’s 8. My son is 8 years old. I don’t even know how that happened. I hope that he learns so much and is able to veer away from the assholes. Yes, I believe there are assholes in third grade, and i’m not afraid to say it. I pray to the heavens that he will be kind, make friends, and begin to learn who he is as a person. My wish for him is that he becomes a confident young man, and stays true to himself.

He is such a blessing to my life I can’t even put into words. It’s amazing how one little person with no life experience can teach you so much about life. My son was born when I was 19 years old. I was not ready, I didn’t have the first clue about being a mom. I was scared because, to be honest, I knew that once I found out I was pregnant I was going to be doing it alone (that is, until my beyond wonderful husband stumbled into my life at a bar one night, but that’s a different story)… I had a doctor appointment on a Friday afternoon, and my doctor looked at me and said, We are going to induce you on Monday. I panicked. That weekend was spent prepping everything I could. Monday morning at 6 am I walked into the hospital with my mom and I got to the door. I looked at my reflection in the glass door and thought to myself, I was going to leave here a completely different person, a mother, with someone who was going to depend on me for everything they need for years.

All I know is after 36 hours of labor, I realized the meaning of love at first sight. I looked at my son and knew that I would never need anyone else in this world. I held him in my arms after the mess and grossness of childbirth was cleaned up. I counted his fingers, and his toes. I touched his face and his hair. In that moment. I promised him that we were going to be okay. I promised him that we were going to make it and that no one in this world was ever going to love him more than me.

Now i’m sitting here with sweaty eyes and a runny nose.

When I say I can’t believe he’s 8, I say that because, 1. It’s surprising that 8 years have gone by so fast and 2. Because I know we’re just getting to the point in his life where things could get tough. Maybe not, but more than likely they will. I am expecting that, but I can prepare for the worst… which is going to work about as well as baptizing a cat.

So, here I am trying to write about 21 day fix and here I am snuffling over the thought of my son starting third grade. Well, it’s better than indulging on cheesecake I suppose!

Sorry for the random ending.  But I need to go and try and fit in more 21 day fix containers.

All aboard the 21 day fix struggle bus to eat all your food!

Toot Toot!

PS – Like my facebook page below!

Leave a comment